Lifetime Achievement Award

FMS Lifetime Achievement Award 2023 Lifetime Achievement Award winner Amber Huffman (holding award) with (from left) FMS Program Chair Tom Coughlin, and FMS Lifetime Achievement Award committee members Brian Berg, Chuck Sobey, and Jim Handy

The FMS Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have shown outstanding leadership in promoting the development and use of flash memory and/or associated or related technologies, including one or more of the following:

  • Creating or promoting an important flash technology, a flash-related technology, or a technology to supersede flash,
  • Leadership of a major flash company or business effort,
  • Bringing flash technology to a new and important application

Lifetime Achievement Award winners may be a single person, or a small team with an important connection.

By bestowing this award, FMS hopes to help foster further advances in the fastest-growing technology in the history of the semiconductor industry.

Amber Huffman, Intel Fellow

2023 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Amber Huffman, for her work in defining and driving important industry standards, including ONFI, NVMe, and form factors, which were quickly adopted throughout the industry.

Learn More

Eli Harari Yoshishige Kitamura Greg Atwood

2022 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Yoshishige Kitamura, Eli Harari, and Greg Atwood, for each playing an important role in bringing Multi-Level Cell, or MLC, to the flash memory industry.

Learn More

John R. Szedon

2020 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

John R. Szedon, for proposing the use of a Charge Trap as a cost-effective memory device.

Learn More

Sanjay Mehrotra

2019 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Sanjay Mehrotra, for co-founding SanDisk, advancing the architecture that enabled the industry and marketplace for flash memory, and leadership of Micron Technology, Inc. and the Semiconductor Industry Association.

Learn More

Aryeh Mergi Dov Moran

2018 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Dov Moran and Aryeh Mergi, for their early work with both NOR and NAND flash at their M-Systems startup, and driving these into several important applications including SSDs, PCs, USB flash drives, cell phone handsets, embedded systems, and flash file systems.

Learn More

George Perlegos

2017 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

George Perlegos, for his entrepreneurship with co-founding two companies which both had an early and important impact on the NVM market (SEEQ and Atmel), and for his earlier inventions in chip design and fabrication for EPROM, EEPROM and flash at Intel.

Learn More

Dr. Kinam Kim

2016 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Dr. Kinam Kim, for driving the development and business efforts to bring Samsung to undisputed leadership of the NAND flash business, along with his inventions in planar and 3D NAND, and in high density storage.

Learn More

Robert 'Bob' Norman

2015 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Robert "Bob" Norman, for his role in architecting "System-Flash" in 1989. System-Flash uses a processor and firmware to manage the flash cells using metadata located next to user data in the flash device, to effect the Flash Translation Layer by way of wear leveling, error correction, and low-stress write/erase so that flash-based devices can be plug-compatible replacements for disk drives. Bob passed on in early 2021.

Learn More

Dr. Simon Sze

2014 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Dr. Simon Sze, for co-inventing the floating gate in 1967. Working at Bell Labs, Drs. Sze and Dawon Kahng invented a silicon device that insulated a charge which could represent a non-volatile memory bit. This was the basis of Intel's EPROM, and later the EEPROM and the Flash EEPROM.

Dr. Fujio Masuoka

2013 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Dr. Fujio Masuoka, for the conception of flash memory in 1984. Flash Memory was a new type of EEPROM device which required only a single transistor to store data, and whose name was based on an architecture which allowed erasure of an entire memory chip in a single operation - or in a "flash."

Dr. Eli Harari

2012 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Dr. Eli Harari, for founding SanDisk, and for its spearheading of flash memory as a data storage medium to retain photographs, sound recordings, and other data; and for his earlier discoveries of thin silicon dioxide's importance for a practical and reliable floating gate in both the EEPROM and flash memory.

Dr. Stefan Lai Dr. Richard Pashley Niles Kynett Bruce McCormick

2011 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Intel's Flash Memory Team (Dr. Richard Pashley, Dr. Stefan Lai, Bruce McCormick, and Niles Kynett), for bringing to market ETOX NOR in 1988. This was the first successful flash memory product, and its later generations became a multi-billion dollar business in the 1990s. Bruce McCormick passed on in 2014.